The NASA Advisory Council (NAC) is meeting today at Ames Research Center, and you can join the conversation by phone, webex or in person!  If you are interested, visit the NAC’s homepage or see below for more information.

Background on NAC:

The NASA Advisory Council (NAC) provides the NASA Administrator with counsel and advice on programs and issues of importance to the Agency. The Council consists of nine committees, Aeronautics, Audit, Finance and Analysis, Commercial Space, Education and Public Outreach, Exploration, Information Technology Infrastructure, Science, Space Operations, and Technology and Innovation. Each committee conducts sessions throughout the year in an effort to gain a broad understanding of current NASA issues and future mission implementation plans. The committees then bring their proposed observations, findings, and recommendations to the full Council for deliberation and final decision on whether to send forward to the NASA Administrator.

The Council deliberates on topics raised by each committee in public sessions and presents any observations, findings, and recommendations to the NASA Administrator on a quarterly basis.

Dial-In Information:

Date/Time:  Thursday, August 4, 2011
Time: 8:00 am to 12:00 pm, and 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm (Pacific Standard Time)
Toll Free Number:  1-888-806-5185
Participant Passcode:  4533096

WebEx Information:

1. Go to
2. Enter your name and email address.
3. Enter the meeting password: nac2011!
4. Click “Join Now”

In Person:

NASA Ames Research Center
NASA Ames Conference Center, Ballroom
Severyns Avenue
Moffett Field, CA  94035


Thursday, August 4, 2011

8:00 – 8:03 am Call to Order, Announcements Ms. Diane Rausch, Executive Director

NASA Advisory Council, NASA HQ

8:03 – 8:10 am Remarks by Council Chair Dr. Kenneth Ford, Chair

NASA Advisory Council

8:10 – 8:30 am Welcome to NASA Ames Research Center Dr. Simon “Pete” Worden, Director
NASA Ames Research Center
8:30 – 9:15 am Remarks by NASA Administrator Mr. Charles F. Bolden, Jr.

NASA Administrator

9:15 – 10:00 am Space Operations Committee Report Col. Eileen Collins (Ret.), Chair
10:00 – 10:45 am Exploration Committee Report Mr. Richard Kohrs, Chair
10:45 – 11:00 am Break  
11:00 – 12:00 noon Remarks by President’s Science Advisor Dr. John P. Holdren, Director

Office of Science and Technology Policy

Executive Office of the President

12:00 – 1:00 pm Lunch (Council members only)  
1:00 – 1:45 pm IT Infrastructure Committee Report Dr. Lawrence Smarr, Chair
1:45 – 2:30 pm Commercial Space Committee Report Mr. Brett Alexander, Chair
2:30 – 3:15 pm Education and Public Outreach Committee Report Mr. Lars Perkins, Chair
3:15 – 3:25 pm Break  
3:25 – 4:05 pm Science Committee Report Dr. Byron Tapley, Vice Chair

(for Dr. Wesley Huntress, Chair)

4:05 – 4:45 pm Aeronautics Committee Report Ms. Marion Blakey, Chair
4:45 – 5:00 pm Public Input  
5:00 pm Adjourn  

Friday, May 6, 2011

8:00 am Call to Order Ms. Diane Rausch, Executive Director

NASA Advisory Council

8:00 – 8:03 am Announcements Dr. Kenneth Ford, Chair

NASA Advisory Council

8:03 – 9:00 am NASA Governance and Budget Mr. David Radzanowski
NASA Chief of Staff
9:00 – 9:45 am Technology and Innovation Committee Report Ms. Esther Dyson, Chair
9:45 – 10:30 am Audit, Finance and Analysis Committee Report Mr. Robert Hanisee, Chair
10:30 – 10:45 am Break  
10:45 – 11:45 am NASA Advisory Council Future Plans &
Roundtable Discussion Dr. Kenneth Ford, Chair

NASA Advisory Council

11:45 am – 12:00 pm Public Input  
12:00 pm Adjourn  




About Nick

Johnson Space Center