flagbanner.jpg

How do you enable 7000+ people to work together over 83 hours and across 24 time zones? One of those tools is hangouts! Hangouts provide a forum for video, voice and text collaboration between different locations, and they will be a key piece of our Space Apps collaboration strategy. Some hangouts will be pre-planned (like the ones you see below) – some will happen more serendipitously as collaborations come together. Some projects have already done introductory Hangouts to introduce their efforts, like openROV.  However they happen, we definitely need your help to get the word out at your event and in your language to get and keep everyone connected! (We’ll add additional major hangouts here if new ones are planned going forward.) 

Thursday, April 18: See the linked information about all KSC hangouts.

Deployable Greenhouse (9:15am EDT/1:15pm GMT) Ask questions with the hashtag #deploygreen.

Bootstrapping of the Lunar Space Industry (12:15pm EDT/4:15pm GMT) Ask questions with the hashtag #moonville.

Envision Kennedy Space Center Spaceport 2040 (2:30pm EDT/6:30pm GMT) Ask questions with the hashtag #KSC2040.

Saturday, April 20: 

Madrid hangout (1:00pm CET/11:00am GMT) Ask questions with the hashtag #spaceapps #Madrid.

Of course, there are ASTRONAUTS! (12 noon EDT/4:00pm GMT) Ask questions with the hashtag #spaceapps #askAstro. Astronauts Leland Melvin (from Space Apps Philly), Samantha Cristoforetti (from Space Apps Rome) and Ron Garan (from Space Apps NYC) will talk about their training as crewmembers, experiences in space (or soon-to-come experiences!) and why they think Space Apps is so valuable. 

Deployable Greenhouse #2 (2:10pm EDT/6:10pm GMT) Ask questions with the hashtag #deploygreen.

Unlimited Space Agency (8:00pm BST/7:00pm GMT) Ask questions with the hashtag #spaceapps #askJon. Wonder about Jon Spooner and real participation in exploration? Just watch him here as he shares from Space Apps Exeter last year on ‘Hacking My Way to Space.’ 

Bootstrapping of the Lunar Space Industry #2 (3:10pm EDT/7:10pm GMT) Ask questions with the hashtag #moonville.

Envision Kennedy Space Center Spaceport 2040 #2 (4:10pm EDT/8:10pm GMT) Ask questions with the hashtag #KSC2040.

NASA JPL Innovation Foundry (2:00pm PDT/9:00pm GMT) Ask questions with the hashtag #spaceapps #askJPL. How are the space-science missions of tomorrow being formulated? The JPL Innovation Foundry was created in 2011 to respond to this evolving context. The Foundry integrates methods, tools, and experts that span the mission concept lifecycle. 

Sunday, April 20: 

Cubesats for Exploration (11:00am MDT/5:00pm GMT) Ask questions with the hashtag #spaceapps #cubesats. Working on a Cubesat project? Join Stephen Murphey from the DIY Space Revolution as he shares thoughts about the importance of cubesats and their place in the ecosystem as well as takes questions about cubesat projects. 

All Hangouts on Air will be announced via the @spaceapps Twitter and broadcast on the Space Apps Challenge YouTube Channel so plan to tune in! (or to watch later if it happens in the middle of the night for you…)

Space Apps Jakarta last year 'hanging out' with astronaut Ron Garan and Space Apps Project Manager Kristen Painting.

Space Apps Jakarta team last year ‘hanging out’ with astronaut Ron Garan and Space Apps Project Manager Kristen Painting from the San Francisco event.

About Ali

Community Advocate

NASA Headquarters

alicia.llewellyn-1@nasa.gov